Addiction: Substance Abuse Community
how long does valium withdrawal last?
About This Community:

This community is a place to share information and support with others who are trying to stop using drugs, prescription drugs, alcohol, tobacco or other addictive substances. Discuss with others, the symptoms of addiction, addiction recovery, ways to quit like tapering and cold turkey, and withdrawal symptoms. If you are interested in general "chat", please visit our Addiction Social Community.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

how long does valium withdrawal last?

I've been using valium for at least ten years on a daily basis. Two months ago I reduced dosage from 10mg a day to 5, and three of weeks ago went down to 2.5mg. Two weeks ago, stopped taking it altogether.

Now, I've got a strange metallic taste in my mouth, fast heartbeat and the world seems to be kind of swimmy, if that makes any sense. A couple of nights ago I was having full on visual and auditory hallucinations.

It is my intention to walk away from this drug, but I'm not sure if I'm going about it the right way. I have no insurance and no Doctor. I understand this may take a while and am willing to suffer through, but am curious if anyone out there might know the real taper off formula? I am 50 years old and in good shape, 5'8, 160 lbs.

Thanks in advance
Swiv
Related Discussions
103 Comments Post a Comment
Blank
wow..you tapered rather fast...I have taken plenty of valium but I primarily have always taken xanax..It is very dangerous to go cold turkey off benzos..such as valium...and 2.5 mg would be considered alot to a dr..even though you tapered from 10 mg..I don't like the sound of these problems your having and would hesitate to do anything but send you to the e.r if it continues..Do you have any valium left? I would have kept tapering (a little slower) all the way down to 1/4mg..Are you still having these problems..this is definitly nothing to take lightly...
Blank