Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD) Expert Forum
malaria
About This Forum:

This forum is for questions and support regarding COPD, coughing/wheezing, chronic bronchitis, emphysema, lung infections, pollution, smoking, treatment for COPD and what causes COPD.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
This expert forum is not accepting new questions. Please post your question in one of our medical support communities.
Blank Blank

malaria

I am a white male 59 years old from the USA. I have been travling to NW Kenya since 2007 and now live here full time for the past 16 months. I have had malaria 17 times during the past 16 months (three times since prior to my full time stay). I use injectible Arthemeter for three days followed by an oral drug for an additional three days. Each time I test negative after treatment.  One bout was treated with IV Quinine in the hospital. Why am I getting malaria so often? HELP PLEASE!
Tags: malaria
242587_tn?1355427710
I am not an expert on Tropical Diseases and your best option would be to discuss this with an expert in the field of Malaria treatment and research.

The following is an overview on the subject from Auerbach’s Textbook of Wilderness Medicine

Recurrent and Persistent Infections