Hearing Loss Community
Intermittent hearing loss and hyperacusis....Cochlear Hydrops?
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to hearing loss, alerting devices, assistive listening devices, audiologically deaf, captioning, cochlear implants, culturally deaf, hearing aids, hearing dogs, home safety, Meniere’s disease, oral communication, safety, sign language, speech recognition, TDD, telephones, tinnitus, travel, and visual communication.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Intermittent hearing loss and hyperacusis....Cochlear Hydrops?

Hello,  I am a 36 year old musician (drummer in a local colorado metal band).  I have been playing drums in metal bands for over 20 years and never had a problem or experienced premanent hearing loss.  At least nothing more than the common Temporary Threshold Shift.  Just over a year ago, my band played a show at a local venue that was over the top volume wise. I had never worn earplugs up till this time.   From that point on, my ears have been "raging" as I describe it.  From the morning after that show I knew something was seriously wrong.  I was left with severe hyperacusus, hearing loss in the 4k-6k range, and a feeling of fullness in my right ear and severe hearing loss and tinnitus in my left.  These symptoms seem to fluctuate and every now and then I can pop my ears and restore a lot of the hearing but the hyperacusis seems worse.  I have had 2 ENT's tell me that I had Cochlear hydrops but I believe my symptoms don't quite match that diagnosis.  Here is a brief medical history: