Hepatitis C Community
HCV difference in life cycle?
About This Community:

This forum is for questions about medical issues and research aspects of Hepatitis C such as, questions about being newly diagnosed, questions about current treatments, information and participation in discussions about research studies and clinical trials related to Hepatitis. If you would like to communicate with other people who have been touched by Hepatitis, please visit our new Hepatitis Social/Living with Hepatitis forum

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

HCV difference in life cycle?

Does anyone know why it is possible to cure HCV, but not HIV?  It was explained to me as a difference in the virus life cycle, but the explanation given me had some misconceptions that I would like to clarify.
Related Discussions
45 Comments Post a Comment
Blank
186344_tn?1278268245
I am not that good at this, but I believe that HIV integrates into the human chromosomal DNA, whereas HCV does not.

Also I think HIV passes the brain/blood barrier, which HCV in most cases does not.
Blank
186344_tn?1278268245
Life Cycle of HIV, a Retrovirus:
http://www.sumanasinc.com/webcontent/animations/content/lifecyclehiv.html

Life Cycle of Hepatitis C:
http://hopkins-gi.org/multimedia/database/intro_293_VC-04.swf
Blank
186344_tn?1278268245
"RETROVIRUS
From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

A retrovirus is any virus belonging to the viral family Retroviridae. They are enveloped viruses possessing an RNA genome, and replicate via a DNA intermediate. Retroviruses rely on the enzyme reverse transcriptase to perform the reverse transcription of its genome from RNA into DNA, which can then be integrated into the host's genome with an integrase enzyme. The virus then replicates as part of the cell's DNA."
Blank