Undiagnosed Symptoms Community
terrible itching
About This Community:

This patient support community is for discussions relating to undiagnosed symptoms, breathing difficulties, feeling cold, cough, diarrhea, dizziness, fainting, fever, indigestion, itching, nausea, numbness, pain (chronic), paralysis, rash, sweating, swelling, urination problems, and vomiting.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

terrible itching

I have been itching for over 5 years now. My back is the worse place, but I can get it anywhere. Sometimes when I sit in my car in the morning I get the most unbelivable itching across the top of my buttocks as though the very act of sitting has triggered the skin to itch uncontrollably.  I have to stop the car to scratch it is so severe.  I have tried so many creams, lotions, antihistamines.  I have been seeing a dermatologist for several years and had full blood workups and chest X-Ray.  I was diagnosed with dermagraphism.  After any stimulus to my skin, I develop severe itching.  My face itches an hour or so after putting on make up.  if I comb my eyebrows with a brush they become unbearably itchy around an hour later.  Even clothing against my skin makes it itch.   I currently take oral doxepin at night which gives a bit of relief, but sometimes the itching is too severe for the doxepin to help much.  I went on HRT to try and alleviate it but to no effect.  I notice that if I wet my face, and let the moisture evaporate, the tingling feeling is unbearable.  It is almost like my nervous system is interpreting every sensation on my skin in a superheightened way.  I admit that at times, this has made me feel suicidal.  It never goes away, but there are times when it is much worse than others and I feel I can not bear it.  I can be in the deepest sleep and it will wake me up.  I have to wear cotton gloves at night or I tear my skin without realising it.  Sometimes I hve dragged the gloves off in my sleep as the itching has been so