Aa
A
A
A
Close
Anxiety Community
23k Members

anxiety and depression

i am trying to start a new thread so i hope this works. trying to get some advice. I am taking 20 mg prozac and have been on it for about 3 weeks. still feeling really anxious and stuff. how long do some of these meds take to work. i originally posted this question but i am new to the chat room scene.
51 Responses
Hi there;
I also suffer with anxiety and depression, so i can totally understand how you feel. I was not prescribed Prozac, I am on Cipramil, but it takes 2 weeks according to my doctor for the drug to start working and can make anxiety temporarily increase when you first start taking it. Try not to think about if it is working or not because that will also increase your anxiety as well.
Are you having any councelling for your anxiety and deppression because it helps to share your fears with an empathetic listener. I suffer badly with anxiety and it can be so scary when the feelings overwhelm me and it took me time to find a good therapist, but if you are willing to trust someone they can help you overcome this horrible illness.
Take care paddywack 223
Thanks for writing me back. You are correct. It is a horrible illness. Right now i cannot  even leave the house it's so bad. I was on lexapro but I stopped taking it because I thought it was all over with. What a mistake because that made it worse. I was on it for 4 months and stopped because the constipation and rectal bleeding from my hemoroid was making me miserable. But i just recently got a therapist so i'm going to see how she is. I didn't like the other 1 I had. But yah..it's hard to be patient when you are so anxious and feeling like you can just jump out of your skin. I never had an episode this bad.
675718 tn?1530036633
prozac was not the drug for me i take zoloft now