Aa
A
A
A
Close
Dental Health Forum
This expert forum is not accepting new questions. Please post your question in one of our medical support communities.

Old Abscess

Hello Dr. i am currently studying egyptology. on the case studies i have done on mummies it seems that over 70% of them suffered from dental abscesses and most likely died as a result of them. of course almost all egyptians had bad teeth. they ate stone ground bread that wore away their teeth. but to think the majority of an entire people died from a bad tooth. well on to my actual questions. xrays of the mummies that revealed evidence of these abscesses has left me with some questions about this. generally we conclude there was an abscess when there are holes found in the jawbone. so i was wanting to ask if you could give a brief description on the mechanics of an abscess. specifically,

1)how does the abscess manage to make these holes in the jawbone itself?
2) if a person had lived through an abscess (such as they do in modern times) does the damage to the jaw bone repair itself, or is it a permenent fixture?
3) exactly how were these abscesses fatal? how does it truly manage to kill?
1 Responses
540545 tn?1377626518
MEDICAL PROFESSIONAL
Hi,

Very good questions and there's a wealth of information to discuss with your questions.  I will try to answer them briefly with a good overview as much as I can so that you have a general idea and feel free to ask more specific questions as they pop up.  

Also, you may want to post this question in the Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery section as the oral surgeon is particularly adept at handling dental abscesses and the more serious consequences of such.