Herpes Community
How I'm Going to have the "TALK"
About This Community:

This forum is an un-mediated, patient-to-patient forum for questions and support regarding herpes issues such as: Herpes symptoms and treatments, causes, diagnosis, and herpes in men, tests, telling your spouse or partner.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

How I'm Going to have the "TALK"

Ok so, I've been talking to this really nice guy for about  2 months now. It's been killing me that he doesn't know that I have genital HSV 1. So instead of texting him (Which I know is a horrible way to spill the beans) I've written him an email. I've looked at the "Help!  How to talk to your partner about STDs" on auntiejessi's page and I so I've written this email(that I haven't sent yet). It's a bit LONG, but I would really love it if you guys could give me feedback or opinions before I send it to him. How would you react, not knowing much about the whole herpes thing, if someone sent this to you?

"I find myself really liking you more and more each day and I can see that things are headed towards sex and I just wanted to let you know that I have a skin infection called HSV 1 (Herpes Simplex Type 1).

[I KNOW IT’S A BIT LONG….BUT PLEASE READ EVERYTHING :) ]

WHAT IS HERPES?

- Herpes is a common and usually mild recurrent skin condition; most infections are unrecognized and undiagnosed. Herpes is caused by a virus: the herpes simplex virus (HSV). HSV can cause oral herpes (cold sores or fever blisters on the mouth or facial area) as well as genital herpes (similar symptoms in the genital region).  It’s an infection, much like the chicken pox, strep throat.
- There are two types of herpes simplex: herpes simplex virus type 1 (HSV-1) and herpes simplex virus type 2 (HSV-2). The majority of oral herpes cases are caused by HSV-1 and the majority of genital herpes cases are caused by HSV-2; however, type-1 or type-2 can occur in either the genital or oral area.