Pediatric Heart Expert Forum
stimulant medications for ADHD effects on BAV
About This Forum:

Questions in this forum are answered by pediatric cardiologists, cardiothoracic surgeons and anesthesiologists from The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia. This forum is for questions and support about pediatric heart problems, symptoms and topics such as heart murmurs, palpitations, fainting, chest pain, congenital heart defects (including management and intervention), fetal cardiology, adult congenital cardiology, arrhythmias and pre-participation athletic screening.

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
This expert forum is not accepting new questions. Please post your question in one of our medical support communities.
Blank Blank

stimulant medications for ADHD effects on BAV

Dr. Boris,

I am a mom and pediatric nurse who is very concerned about her 12 y.o. son. He has been on Straterra for the last 5 years. During that time he has been diagnosed with bicuspid aortic valve. After reading all the latest research I am concerned about switching him to a stimulant to treat his ADHD. We are a military family and have had to switch our pediatric cardiologist with each move and thus get some conflicting info about the effects of stimulants. My son has tachycardia on the straterra with heartrates 90-100. Please help me I am very concerned.

Ryan's mom.
Related Discussions
773637_tn?1327450515
Dear Ryan’s mom,