Aa
A
A
A
Close
Heart Disease Community
20.1k Members

Alpha blockers, Beta Blockers and nightmares

This is a multi topic post. I realise that this is not the Dermatology forum, but I feel it necessary to talk in detail about my Cholinergic Urticaria in order to show my reasoning for wanting to try an Alpha blocker for hypertension and social anxiety.

I am currently taking an ACE inhibitor for hypertension. Although it may lower my blood pressure to a degree, it does not have any of the other, beneficial effects of a Beta blocker.

Can Alpha blockers cause nightmares in the way that Beta blockers do? I am going to ask my Doctor for an alternative to a Beta blocker that will have the same effects without the side effect of nightmares. I am studying up on this before seeing him, as I feel I need to be able to make good sense, in case he may not wish to see the relevance of the subject.

My first experience with a Beta blocker was with propranolol over ten years ago. At the time, I was not suffering from hypertension (at least not when checked), but I was prescribed this medication in an attempt to control Cholinergic Urticaria, which resisted other treatments such as Antihistamines, H1 and H2 blockers, Tricyclic antidepressants etc. 10x10mg of plain Propranolol taken over the course of a day each day, did not work. At this point I stopped seeing my dermatologist as he had exhausted all methods of treatment that he was willing to try.