907?1298410043
GroupTrack: We Want a Natural Birth User Group
Two Models of Birth
About This Group:

For women and men who believe that birth is a natural process that requires little or no medical intervention welcome to We Want a Natural Birth. For those who are unsure about natural childbirth please join us as we will use many MedHelp trackers, health pages, polls, FAQ's, videos and resources to share about the pros, cons, delights and fears of birthing naturally. This is a peaceful place of refuge for expecting mommies and daddies alike! Please note that I am not a medical professional and this forum is a public domain. If you have any medical concerns you will always be asked to consult with your doctor or midwife. I will also be posting links to graphic birth photos and videos (you will always be forewarned).

Founded by JoyRenee on February 22, 2011
52 members
Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

Two Models of Birth

This article made my heart sing! We need more recognition for home birth. I know that when I was having my first baby and I'd hear, in passing, that women wanted to give birth in water or at home I thought they were absolutely nuts. I had no understanding, no knowledge. So when I hear others say the same thing (mostly first-time mothers or older women who no longer have the ability to have children) I cringe inwardly. We can only seek to educate and to accomplish anything it has to be done with sensitivity and not arguing.

http://www.midwiferytoday.com/articles/homebirthissues.asp

So there are two models of birth - the medical model and the midwifery model. The medical model sees childbirth as inherently dangerous and suggests that all women should undergo routine interventions to ensure safety and give birth in hospital, and the midwifery model uses a more holistic approach and assesses women on an individual basis—a process which often enables women to give birth in their own homes.