Medical Ethics Community
The system
About This Community:

WELCOME TO THE MEDICAL ETHICS COMMUNITY: This Patient-To-Patient Community is for discussions relating to Medical Ethics issues such as Abortion; Genetic Engineering; End of Life Issues; Off-Label Prescribing;

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

The system

I am a seasoned paramedic of 12 years.  I have a different philosophy about medicine than many of our practicing physicians.  Though I am not an MD I have worked with many. I trust maybe 20% with my kids.  I would not send my dog in the local ambulance that responds to my home.  I have seen some really good doctors and medics and I have seen the worst.  There are many more bad ones than good ones.  I watched one doctor work an entire cardiac arrest and I did everything short of pushing him out of the way to defibrillate the patient.  I had paddles charges and told him to move..and he would not let go of the patient.  After the guy was pronounced dead, I asked Why did you not let me shock him...he replied, I forgot.  I screamed it and he would not listen.   I found myself as a medic basing my decision on the  facility to transport a given patient to on who was working that day.  I struggled to deliver the sickest patients to the best doctors.  Now, I am not working any more, and have children in need of a pediatrician.  I cannot find a pediatrician who offers the aggressive, assertive care I always offered my patients.  They all seem to be following a system.  There is nothing different from one office to another.  I know that every time my child is ill it is not an emergency, but I also know that there are only a few ways to determine that.  I am not seeing the typical medical doctor provide the care or orders needed to rule out the worst case scenario immediately.  If John Doe calls 911, and I respond... I will cover the most immediate base first depending on the complaint and provide the most correct treatment right then and rig