Military Health Issues Community
PTSD
About This Community:

This is an un-mediated community for discussions relating to health issues of soldiers who served or are serving in the military. Topics include, but are not limited to Amputation, Anxiety, Back and Spinal Injuries, Benefits, Burns, Biological and Chemical Exposure, Bone Injuries, Depression, Disabled Vets, Gastrointestinal Injuries, Head Injuries, Health Insurance, Infections, Infectious Diseases, Mental Health Issues, Post Traumatic Shock Disorder (PTSD), Resources for Vets, Sexually Transmitted Diseases (STD), Vaccines, Wounds-Other

Font Size:
A
A
A
Background:
Blank
Blank
Blank
Blank Blank

PTSD

I needed to find a forum for post traumatic stress disorder but there doesnt seem to be one so i apologise for posting it in here. I thought it was the most appropriate section as PTSD is pretty common in the military and i thought i could get feedback here. Okay..

I am not in the military i am a psychology student, i suffer from bipolar disorder along with mild psychotic features. About 6 months ago whilst walking home at night 3 guys with knives tried to kill me. I would rather not go into the details of all of it. Essentially 6 months on.. i still get nightmares, very vivid flashbacks and i cannot walk anywhere when its dark on my own anymore i will panic and get so anxious it will happen again. Two months post to the event i still had not really left my home or gone outside because i was still shaken up and scared to death.

I know its not the same as surviving a mortar attack or mowing down soliders with a assault rifle but still in the context of my daily life it was very very scary to me and i want to know if im suffering from post traumatic stress.
Related Discussions
7 Comments Post a Comment
Blank
471949_tn?1236907626
hi-