Aa
A
A
A
Close
Women's Social Community
884 Members

Is this illegal?

My ex-husband is very angry with me mainly because I was able to find on two seperate websites where he posted information about additional income he makes "under the table" or "on the side"  that is not reported income.  He is making very good money with this side job.  Anyway he doesn't pay his child support as he is ordered and he is trying to get it lowered claiming he is unemployed.  SO I took screen shots showing the extra money that he was making.  It was easy to prove because he posted pictures of himself, his cell phone number, his birthday and on and on.  

Well our hearing was a couple of days ago and now he is so angry that I busted him he went back to one of those sites put my full name out there and slandered me.  Is it illegal to post someone's full name in order to slander them out of anger?
3 Responses
13167 tn?1327197724
I'm not a lawyer,  but I'd say no.  

There are websites that have been in existence for awhile now,  where you just dump on somebody you dated.  By full name and description.

In order for him to be libelous (libel is written word,  slander is spoken) it would have to be false info,  and he'd have to know it was false info.

Is what he is saying basically true from his standpoint?

BTW - when someone does this,  it doesn't make you look bad.  It makes him look bad.  I mean,  what does he have to say in his defense?  That he was trying to ditch child support and you caught him lying?  Not very positive.

Best wishes.
Thanks!  I really didn't know there was a difference between slander and libel....  I learn something new everyday!  

I appreciate your input...